Oxford Bach Soloists

A Thousand Years of Baroque

Bath Recitals takes us to the glittering world of Handel, Bach & Scarlatti as part of its 2019 Baroque Series this August featuring some of the greatest musical names of the age.

But why A Thousand years of Baroque?

Find the answer at the bottom of this newsletter!

The Chorus & Orchestra of the Oxford Bach Soloists make a welcome return to Bath with their conductor Tom Hammond-Davies in August. Playing on period instruments and working with the next generation of talented young vocalists and instrumentalists, the Oxford Bach Soloists bring a wonderful programme of music by Handel, Bach and Scarlatti.

The Chorus and Orchestra of the Oxford Bach Soloists conducted by Tom Hammond-Davies

“Absolutely perfect in every way… spiritual sounds to stir the heart and soul.”
Oxford Mail

Uplifting music by GF Handel

Born in the German city of Halle, Handel was invited to London by the Hanovarian King George I where he became famous for his operas, oratorios, anthems and organ concertos.

Eternal Source of Light Divine
Excerpts from Messiah
Water Music Suite No 3
Waft her Angels through the Skies from the opera Jeptha

Fabulous music by JS Bach

Generally regarded as one of the greatest composers in Western music, Bach was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist of the Baroque Era.

Coffee Cantata
Excerpts from Easter Oratorio
Final Chorus from Cantata no 181

Spiritual music by Domenico Scarlatti

Italian composer who spent much of his life in the service of the Portuguese and Spanish royal families. In some ways he was ahead of the other two as one of the few Baroque composers to transition into the classical period.

Salve Regina


Saturday 24 August, 7.30pm
St. Michael’s Church, Broad Street, Bath BA1 5LJ
Tickets £5 – £20 Available online – click on button below

And why A Thousand Years of Baroque?

Handel, Bach and Scarlatti were all born in the same year -1685. This is 334 years ago so times that by three and we have (just over) 1,000 year of fantastic Baroque music from this extraordinary trio of composers!